Brahms 4 with Pianist Stewart Goodyear

Door Time: 6:45 PM

David Danzmayr

Guest Artist: 
Stewart Goodyear, piano

“It is as though one lay in springtime among the blossoming flowers, and joy and sorrow filled one’s soul in turn,” said Clara Schumann upon hearing the beginning of Brahms’ Fourth Symphony. Guest conductor David Danzmayr leads this transcendent symphony as well as Saint-Saëns’ dazzlingly energetic Second Piano Concerto, performed here by one of the best pianists of his generation, Stewart Goodyear. The program opens with Jessie Montgomery’s Strum, which the Washington Post declared to be “turbulent, wildly colorful and exploding with life.” 

This performance will be delivered both in person and virtually. Each in-person ticket purchase also grants access to the virtual performance. If you would prefer to attend the virtual concert only, see the full list of virtual concerts or purchase a Virtual Concerts package here

Jessie Montgomery, Strum (2006; revised 2012)
Camille Saint-Saëns, Piano Concerto No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 22

Johannes Brahms, Symphony No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 98

Ride the FREE HOP 2 Chautauqua shuttle to this show. Click here for more info.

*All ticket and subscription purchases subject to service fees

Take a Look at Our Events Calendar

Translate »