Olga Kern + Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony

Door Time: 6:45 PM

Ludovic Morlot

Guest Artist: 
Olga Kern, piano

“Whatever it is — call it star quality —” claims the Washington Post, “music likes Kern the way the camera liked Garbo.” Olga Kern puts that electrifying technique to work in not one but two dynamic pieces: the most popular of Haydn’s concertos for keyboard and Shostakovich’s witty First Piano Concerto. (Listen for Shostakovich’s extraordinary moments for solo trumpet as well.) Former Seattle Symphony music director Ludovic Morlot conducts this program, which also includes three movements from Dvořák’s Legends plus Prokofiev’s playful and charming Classical Symphony, composed on an idyllic farm as Prokofiev took refuge from the turbulence of the Russian Revolution. 

This performance will be delivered both in person and virtually. Each in-person ticket purchase also grants access to the virtual performance. If you would prefer to attend the virtual concert only, see the full list of virtual concerts or purchase a Virtual Concerts package here

Antonín  Dvořák, Legends, Op. 59 (Movements 6, 7 and 9)
Sergei Prokofiev, Symphony No. 1, Op. 25, “Classical”

Franz Joseph Haydn, Piano Concerto in D Major, Hob. XVIII:11
Dmitri Shostakovich, Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 35

Ride the FREE HOP 2 Chautauqua shuttle to this show. Click here for more info.

*All ticket and subscription purchases subject to service fees

Take a Look at Our Events Calendar

Translate »