JACK Quartet: New York Stories

Doors: 7:00 PM

Concert: 7:30 PM


The 2023 Robert Mann Chamber Series opens with the esteemed JACK Quartet. Hailed by The New York Times as “our leading new-music foursome,” the JACK Quartet maintains an unwavering commitment to giving voice to underheard composers. In the quartet’s New York Stories program, “Two masters of New York’s downtown heyday, Philip Glass and John Zorn, bring stylistically divergent visions: a rollicking, romantic ride through a maze of patterns in Glass’ epic String Quartet No. 5, and a peek into the catacombs in Manhattan’s Upper West Side from John Zorn who brings medieval mystery to contemporary America. Caleb Burhans leads the listener in a healing ritual of absolution in Contritus, while Caroline Shaw pays homage to the father of the string quartet, Josef Haydn, in her Entr’acte. Morton Feldman finally reminds us of the pattern and structure all around us. New York: a city of Byzantine systems and countless ideas that defies tidy summary, but always fascinates and excites continued exploration.” 


Morton Feldman, Structures for String Quartet (1951) 

Caleb Burhans, Contritus (2010) 

Philip Glass, String Quartet No. 5 (1991) 

Caroline Shaw, Entr’acte (2011) 

John Zorn, The Remedy of Fortune for String Quartet (2016) 


Note: All ticket and subscription purchases subject to service fees

Take a Look at Our Events Calendar

Translate »