Copland’s Lincoln Portrait

Door Time: 5:45 PM

Peter Oundjian

Guest Artists: 
Steven Banks, saxophone 
Chris Christoffersen, narrator 

This program begins and ends with Aaron Copland: first, his brassy and familiar Fanfare for the Common Man; finally, his reverent portrait of Abraham Lincoln, featuring text from Lincoln’s speeches narrated by Chris Christoffersen. Brilliant saxophonist Steven Banks brings his “pristine clarity” and “emotional heat” (Herald Times) to Alexander Glazunov’s Saxophone Concerto. Florence Price is celebrated as the first Black woman to have a symphony performed by a major American orchestra; here we perform the expansively emotional second movement from her String Quartet No. 2, arranged for string orchestra by Peter Oundjian.  

Aaron Copland, Fanfare for the Common Man
Florence Price, String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor (1935) (Movement 2)
Alexander Glazunov, Saxophone Concerto in E-flat Major, Op. 109

Jacques Ibert, Concertino da Camera
Aaron Copland, Lincoln Portrait

Ride the FREE HOP 2 Chautauqua shuttle to this show. Click here for more info.

*All ticket and subscription purchases subject to service fees

Take a Look at Our Events Calendar

Translate »