Joshua Bell + Mahler 1 – LOW TICKET ALERT

Doors: 5:45 PM

Concert: 6:30 PM


Peter Oundjian, conductor

Joshua Bell, violin

Music Director Peter Oundjian and the Festival are pulling out all the stops for an unforgettable season finale. In the second evening of a two-part preview performance, 2023 Artist-in-Residence Joshua Bell performs selections from Elements, an unparalleled work for violin and orchestra in five movements, each written by a different acclaimed composer. In this concert, Bell performs the two concluding movements from Elements: “Fire” (composed by Jake Heggie), “Air” (Jennifer Higdon); “Water” (Edgar Meyer); “Ether” (Jessie Montgomery); and “Earth” (Kevin Puts). Oundjian continues his tradition of ending the Festival with a grand work by Mahler; in his First Symphony Mahler celebrates the pure taste of victory after a struggle, guiding listeners through daydreams and darkness before rewarding them with a heroic ending and as much blinding joy as the horns can muster. 

(A co-commissioned project with five major orchestras, Elements will receive formal premieres around the world beginning in September 2023. Hear it at the Festival first!)



Elements (2023), 2 movements

Gustav Mahler, Symphony No. 1 in D Major, “Titan”


Note: All ticket and subscription purchases subject to service fees

Take a Look at Our Events Calendar

Translate »