Gabriela Lena Frank’s World Premiere

Door time: 6:00 PM

Show time: 6:30 PM


Be the first to experience a brand new concerto by Gabriela Lena Frank, heralded as one of the most significant women composers in history by the Washington Post. This exciting new work was commissioned by the Festival and will be performed by Boulder’s Grammy-winning Takács Quartet as ensemble-soloist alongside the Orchestra. After intermission, Joan Tower’s brilliant Concerto for Orchestra allows for great moments of individual virtuosity, but ultimately it is the entire Orchestra that shines. “I had imagined a long and large landscape that had a feeling of space and distance,” Tower says of her Concerto for Orchestra, in which the music “travels a long road.” This program celebrates three generations of women composers and opens with Florence Price’s Adoration, originally conceived for solo organ and performed here in its stunning arrangement for strings.  



Peter Oundjian, conductor 

Takács Quartet 

Gabriela Lena Frank, composer 



Florence Price, Adoration 

Gabriela Lena Frank, world premiere 

Joan Tower, Concerto for Orchestra (1991) 


Take a Look at Our Events Calendar

Translate »