Colorado Music Festival | Takács Quartet Plays John Adams’ Absolute Jest

Friday, July 1
Doors: 6:00 PM
Concert: 6:30 PM
Chautauqua Auditorium
Tickets: $25.00 – $75.00 ($22.00 – $72.00 Concert Member)*

Peter Oundjian

Guest Artists:
Takács Quartet

Music Director Peter Oundjian opens the 2022 Festival season with special guests: Boulder’s own Takács Quartet. This Grammy Award-winning quartet joins the orchestra for John Adams’ Absolute Jest, which samples, twists, and builds upon Beethoven’s themes, in particular his late string quartets; Adams has referred to his Jest as “Beethoven that has been passed through a hall of mirrors.” Dvořák’s iconic Symphony No. 9, “From the New World,” was written in the “new world” of America but teeming with Bohemian folk influence as well. Composer Carlos Simon’s Fate Now Conquers nods to a notebook entry written by Beethoven and explores “the unpredictable ways of fate” and the uncertainties of life.

Carlos Simon, Fate Now Conquers (2020)
John Adams, Absolute Jest (2012)

Antonín Dvořák, Symphony No. 9, Op. 95 (“From the New World”)

Ride the FREE HOP 2 Chautauqua shuttle to this show. Click here for more info.

*Note: All ticket and subscription purchases subject to service fees

Take a Look at Our Events Calendar

Translate »