Tuesday, July 6

Doors: 6:45 PM
Showtime: 7:30 PM

Chautauqua Auditorium

$48.00 - $75.00 ($45.00 - $72.00 Concert Member)*

Guest Artists: 
Colorado Music Festival Orchestra Members

The Festival launches its brand new Robert Mann Chamber Music Series, named for a beloved performer, educator, composer, and “one of the country’s most admired and deeply loved musicians” (The Boston Globe). Mann was a founding member of the Juilliard String Quartet and performed as the quartet’s first violinist for over 50 years. The series opens with Mozart’s heartrending String Quintet in G Minor, considered to be one of the greatest chamber music masterpieces of all time. This moving work ultimately resolves in a well-earned catharsis, a sweet ray of hope. On the other hand, Brahms’ String Quintet in G Major is heroic from the beginning; composed during a pleasant Alpine vacation, this magnificent and dramatic quintet pulses with Brahms’ rhythmic games and fresh melodies. 

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Viola Quintet in G Minor, K. 516

Johannes Brahms, Viola Quintet in G Major, Op. 111

Ride the FREE HOP 2 Chautauqua shuttle to this show. Click here for more info.

*All ticket and subscription purchases subject to service fees